Kejimkujik National Park of Canada

14 01 2011

In the fall we visited Kejimkujik National Park. This is a natural wilderness of 381 square kilometres, with lakes, rivers and old hemlocks and maples. It’s a great place to hike, cycle or canoe.

We took the trail along the Mersey River, towards Jake’s Landing.

Passing yet another woodpecker holed tree.

When we reached the end of the trail opposite Jake’s Landing we found that the bridge, shown on our map, had been removed for the winter – so no way to cross.

We could only look at the launch for canoes and lots of canoes to rent.

Kejimkujik Lake is the largest in the park at about 26  square kilometres. There are various camp grounds and picnic areas along the shore.

Most of the camp areas are accessible only by canoe or kayak. There are 46 back country campsites, each with 2 tent pads, a fire box, picnic table, firewood,  and toilet pit.

We watched as these 2 canoes crossed the lake, struggling against the wind. They had been away for 2 nights, having camped on one of the many little islands. This seemed to be an annual event for these 4 men.

Last Sunday, we drove back to Kejimkujik, in the snow. The lake was a very different place,

with the snow lying on the ice.

We wondered if this was the work of a beaver, or just someone with an axe.

This was obviously an area to demonstrate the art of building the wigwam, covered in birch bark.

We spotted this little woodpecker, but I don’t think he would be responsible for all the holes in the dead trunk.

We will return in the summer to the park with our bikes or kayaks.

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 01 2011
sartenada

Thank You taking us with You to Kejimkujik National Park. These photos I loved most of all: Keji-1, Keji-2, Keji-3, Keji-7, Keji-12 and Keji9.

I stared for long time at that Keji-9 and I am that opinion, that beaver made it. When one is using axe, then the cut is in another direction. The photo from woodpecker holed tree (Keji- 2) was to me a happy surprise, because I have not seen such a tree full of holes!

Also those winter photos are nice and they add the attractivity of this post because before seeing fall photos from which two first are gorgeus. Both together form a lovely post.

26 01 2011
jackiequeen

Thank you for reading my post. I too thought it must be a beaver, but wondered if someone was clever enough to make it look like a beaver.

Here we have lots of trees with so many woodpecker holes. I still have not seen one of the really big woodpeckers, like the pileated woodpecker. Maybe one day I will be lucky and hopefully have my camera with me.

5 06 2011
Klaus Langner

What a wonderful Site – I found it, while i’m searching for interestings for my vancancy in september this year ( 4 weeks near KejimkujikPark, at Ponhook Lake ).
I believe, my camera will have to take many photos.

6 06 2011
jackiequeen

Thank you for visiting my Blog. I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful holiday at Ponhook Lake. You will certainly need your camera. You must visit Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Annapolis Royal, and Bear River, when you are in Nova Scotia.

Leave a Reply

