Lunenburg Academy

2 03 2011

The Lunenburg Academy was built between 1894-1895, after the old Academy building was destroyed by fire in 1893. It is two storeys high, with a third storey in the mansard roof. Its architecture was obviously influenced by the German settlers to Lunenburg.

The building was constructed of wood and the black and white paintwork, as well as its position on a hill overlooking the town, makes it visible from all around.

The building has many decorative features.

Both the front and rear have large projecting sections, flanked by towers.

I suppose this window at the top would be an eye-brow window, but not sure about the eye ones on either side of the window.

There are large dormer windows in the roof on each side of the towers.

The  building has 4 towers, one of them being a bell tower.

The ‘gingerbread’ decoration above doors and windows is very typical of the Victorian buildings in the town and the red shingle on the roof, help to make this a very recognisable and unique building.

The windows are all well proportioned

The entrances have these little triangular windows above them.

At night this building is even more visible from afar.

In 1984, Lunenburg Academy was designated a Provincial Heritage property.

If you would like to see inside this building go to

http://www.lunenburg.ednet.ns.ca/tour.htm

But the future of this building is unknown at the moment. The construction of a new Academy, to take the place of both Lunenburg Academy and Lunenburg High school has just begun. All the pupils from the old Academy will move to the new, modern, designed-for-the future, school.

The new Bluenose Academy will be the subject of a future Blog.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 03 2011
sartenada

Wow! That is beautiful. I am sure that it is obviously influenced by the German settlers, Yes! We visit in Germany by car every year and there are many that kind of building. The coloring differs from those in Germany in my eyes.

Your set of photos again presented this very thoroughly in a very admirable way, general views, close-ups and night vision.

Thank You again for this quality and interesting post!

4 03 2011
jackiequeen

Thanks, I had to put on some photos of this special building to our town, before I start to do the new academy building. The old building is such a huge building that there is real concern in the town as to its future use. hopefully, the Provincial and Federal Governments will find a new life for it in the community.

8 03 2011
Patrick Hirtle

Hi again, Jackie,

I had sent an earlier reply hoping to get permission to use one of your photos of the Bluenose II posted on an earlier blog entry … I didn’t get a reply, so I’ll try again … if you could email me I’d be much obliged … even if the answer is no.

Thanks,
Patrick ~

9 03 2011
jackiequeen

Thanks Patrick, I’m delighted you would like to use one of my photos.

15 03 2011
johnlmalone

I’m into poetry , the architecture of words upon a pAGE, There is much that interested me in the layout of the building which is sort of a poem in itself. I have been told my poetry has a very visual component — it must be seen as well as heard — and this blog is srtongly about layout.

PS I was going to comment on your very populay other blog but thought my comment would not have been poticed among all the others

16 03 2011
jackiequeen

Thank you for commenting. I am trying to read all the comments and will definitely look at your site when I have time.

Leave a Reply

