New Folk Art Gallery in Lunenburg

9 07 2011

The major event of this summer in Lunenburg, is the opening of a new Folk Art Gallery in Pelham Street, right opposite the Library.

Over the past few weeks our friends, Gareth and Bill Miller, have been busy planning and researching for this building, intent on making the space match its purpose.

I had never heard of ‘Folk Art’ until I came to Nova Scotia. This work is done usually by people who have not been trained as artists, their themes being unsophisticated, but highly original. There is usually a humourous and often eccentric slant to it.

So this building had to reflect its purpose and instead of the boring grey building  –

it was transformed to this bright happy colour.

The inside had an even more dramatic change, with the removal of a wall and the addition this vibrant turquoise paint.

It wasn’t until the art work was added that it really looked like a Gallery.

In the window, you can see Moe the Dog, by Bill Roach, the Blue Cow, by Reed Timmons, and Blue Rooster by Barry Colpitts.

This piece is called ‘Lunenburg Bump with Sou’wester’ by Vivian Bell Zinck, making a play on the architectural window feature of Lunenburg.

The rooster, you will see is a recurring theme, as well as cows, cats and dogs.

This lady is a bird house!

‘Smoked Cod’ is the title here, I think that says it all.

So, if you are visiting Lunenburg this summer, you must make your way to Folk Art Maritime, where you are sure to find something unique for yourself, or as a special gift.

You can also look at their other Folk Art at

http://www.folkartmaritime.com/

Actions

Information

9 responses

10 07 2011
Lenore Diane

This is great! I love the lady bird house. I am going to share this place with my family, now. Perhaps, they can plan a trip to Lunenburg within the next several days.

10 07 2011
jackiequeen

Glad you liked the post. Send everyone you know, the more the merrier.

10 07 2011
Flora Doehler

Wow! What an exciting colour Jackie! Larry and I have been pondering colours for our white house that really really needs a coat of paint. I see we weren’t being bold enough in our thinking! 😉

11 07 2011
jackiequeen

I thought your house was fairly recently painted white, when you did all the internal renovations. I don’t think I would have chosen the turquoise, but I think it works for the theme of the folk art.

16 07 2011
Sandra Campbell

As a visitor from Scotland last year to our old friends Jackie and Jeff Queen, we were intruiged by the bright and sometimes funny hand – made models on porches around Lunenburg- our introduction to a truly Maritime phenomenon! Best wishes for a busy summer at the gallery!
Sandra and Bob Campbell

16 07 2011
jackiequeen

Thanks, Sandra, for the kind wishes to Gareth and Bill. I’m sure they will have a great season at the gallery. See you both soon.

8 08 2011
Anne Brown

I just found your blog. My beau and I just returned from a three day trip to Lunenburg (we were visiting from Vermont & Boston respectively). We absolutely fell in love with Lunenburg! We stopped by this new gallery, very nice. I enjoyed your posts telling about the fish art sculptures in the streets and the distillery – just two of the things we loved about the town. We attended the Folk Harbour concert Thursday night and really enjoyed hearing some great Canadian artists. I look forward to reading through your old posts and new ones to come!

8 08 2011
jackiequeen

Thanks for looking at my Blog. I think I met you in the Gallery on Friday morning – there was someone from Vermont. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Lunenburg, it’s a great little town.

9 08 2011
Anne Brown

Yes, we did meet! We talked about pottery. I recognized you after looking at some of your post photos. I’m glad to have found your blog and hope to make it make back there again sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

