Bluenose II – In the Water Soon?

31 07 2013
On 3rd February, 2011,  I wrote about the restoration of the Bluenose II.
Last year, I took this photo once it was out of its shed and was hopeful that we’d see the Bluenose II sailing out of the bay this summer.
2012
Yesterday, I took these photos in the Lunenburg fog, as the Bluenose still sits in the dry dock!
2013-A]
Definite progress has been made.
2013-B
The masts are in place.
2013-C]

So why the delays

On June 13th, the news was that they were working on the rudder.
That the refit was well over a year behind schedule and the $16-million pricetag for the work was expected to go up!
Then the news this week -July 22nd

The much-delayed Bluenose II rebuild has suffered another setback.

The schooner was to start sea trials this month, but Communities, Culture and Heritage spokesperson Michael Noonan told CBC News that plan has been delayed.

Noonan said a machinist suffered a serious injury this weekend and he will need to be replaced. The man’s injury has nothing to do with work, it occurred off-site.

Noonan said the machinist is one of the key members of the rebuild’s staff as builders prepare to install a steel rudder, the last step before the sea trials begin.

However, the injury means the sea trials won’t start on schedule, but will be delayed by a week or two as the builders try to find a replacement for the injured man.

We can only hope that there will be no more delays and that we will soon see the Bluenose II back in the water.

Like this photo of the old Bluenose  I took in 2009.

Bluenose-(2)

Until then you can watch this Petro Canada Commercial from 1985 showing this icon in action.

http://yarmouthshipping.com/id124.html

Actions

Information

7 responses

31 07 2013
sybil

Pity about all those delays and the rising costs. I think we’re all eager to see her sailing again …

31 07 2013
tkmorin

Yes, I was looking forward to watching a launch … Thank you for this post! Actually, I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to reblog your post on my blog. Thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we don’t have to wait all that much longer! 🙂

1 08 2013
jackiequeen

Thanks for looking at my post and reblogging it. Hopefully the Bluenose will sail this year.

1 08 2013
tkmorin

I hope that when you hear something, you’ll let us know. I can’t believe it didn’t get more coverage. As I said, I thank you for your post. 🙂

31 07 2013
tkmorin

Reblogged this on Bite Size Canada and commented:
I also wrote about the bluenose, even posted a link to a webcam. Now I’m sorry to say the launch has been delayed. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed!- tk

1 08 2013
Maurice A. Barry

The Bluenose’ legacy lives on (thankfully). Just before he died Stan Rogers put together an album, mostly about ‘inland waters.’ One of the selections was this one, written about the original Bluenose’s sister ship, the Blue Dolphin:
http://stanrogers.net/the-music/song-archive/man-with-blue-dolphin/
It rings a bit true here too.

1 08 2013
jackiequeen

Thanks for commenting on my post and telling me about the Blue Dolphin. It’s always interesting to learn new facts.

Leave a Reply

