Painted Lady and Monarch Butterflies

12 09 2012

On a recent trip to Liverpool, we decided to take the Shore Road that leads to Western Head. The plan was to try to fish at the point near the lighthouse. That wasn’t really a possibility, but we were rewarded with the sight of a huge number of butterflies on the knapweed.

They were mainly Painted Ladies and were here by the hundreds.

They flew and settled continuously around me.

My eye was drawn to a few much larger butterflies – Monarchs. They have veins in the centre of their wings but no brown markings or spots.

It was only once I was home, that I noticed that one had  torn wings.

The Monarch butterfly is famous for its migration from Mexico to Canada and then the reverse at the end of the summer.

Will this injured butterfly manage the trip to Mexico?

How many butterflies can you spot?


Actions

Information

3 responses

12 09 2012
sybil

I encountered many of these Painted Ladies on a recent walk at Hartlen Point. Perhaps not hundreds, but MANY and it was wonderful to have them dancing around me. So the small plant that looks sorta like thistle is knapweed ?

Is the answer to the “how many butterflies” ? six ?

13 09 2012
jackiequeen

Isn’t it wonderful to be among so many butterflies! We always called that thistle-like flower knapweed. I see that it’s regarded as an ‘alien’ here in Canada.

4 10 2012
Margie

I had one Monarch butterfly in my yard here in Alberta this summer – first one I have ever noticed. It let me take many photos of it, though! As you pointed out, they are quite amazing travelers.

Leave a comment